Twitter may be testing a way to get you removed from threads

Tech

Twitter could test an escape hatch for users who don’t want to be part of a thread. On Friday, writer and researcher Jane Manchun Wong . wrote an apparent screenshot tweeted of a new ‘leave this conversation’ function. As described in the screenshot, the feature would remove your username from a Twitter conversation, prevent people from mentioning you in the conversation again, and prevent you from getting notifications about it. (You can still see the thread.)

The feature looks different from ‘mute this conversation’, an existing option that turns off notifications for a thread that mentions you. According to a follow-up tweetWhen you leave the conversation, your Twitter handle will appear as plain text in the tweet you’re mentioned in, rather than the hyperlink someone would normally see when they tap your Twitter handle. That can create friction that discourages other users from pulling you into additional conversations and sends a signal that you’re not interested in participating.

As usual, Twitter declined to confirm whether it is testing the feature in an email to The edge. But the company has steadily introduced subtle ways to control how other users interact with your account. That includes tweaks that simplify existing options, such as forcing a user to unfollow you, as well as limits on replies and notifications when an account with a lot of followers has retweeted you. This feature would fall on the more dramatic end of the spectrum – but also add an option that many users would appreciate when tagged in an annoying thread.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.