Danny Glover, Samuel L. Jackson & 2 Other Stars Honored With Governors Awards, New Date Out!

New Governors Awards Date: Danny Glover, Samuel L. Jackson, Elaine May, Liv Ullmann To Be Honored
New date for Governors Awards: Danny Glover, Samuel L. Jackson, Elaine May, Liv Ullmann to be honored (Photo Credit : Facebook)

The Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences has announced a new date for their annual Governors Awards honoring Danny Glover, Samuel L. Jackson, Elaine May and Liv Ullmann.

The event now takes place on Friday, March 25, two days before the 94th annual Academy Awards, variété.com reports.

Originally scheduled for January 15, but postponed due to the increase in Covid cases, the 12th annual ceremony will be scaled down and produced by Emmy nominee Jennifer Fox.

The Honorary Award, an Oscar statuette, is awarded “in honor of outstanding distinction in lifetime achievement, outstanding contributions to the state of the arts and sciences, or for outstanding service to the Academy.”

This year it goes to Jackson, May and Ullmann.

Meanwhile, Glover will receive the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award, also an Oscar statuette, given “to an individual in the cinema arts and sciences whose humanitarian efforts have brought credit to the industry.”

Glover will join the roster of past honorary members, which include Angelina Jolie, Debbie Reynolds and last year’s recipient, Tyler Perry.

The Oscar nominations were announced earlier this week, with Jane Campion’s ‘The Power of the Dog’ leading the field with 12 nominations, followed by Denis Villeneuve’s ‘Dune’ with 10.

Other nominees at this year’s ceremony, produced by Will Packer, include Will Smith, Kristen Stewart and Billie Eilish. The Oscars will be broadcast on Sunday, March 25.

Must read: When Tyrese Gibson, Dwayne Johnson’s Fast & Furious Co-Star, Mocked Hobbs & Shaw’s Bad Box Office Numbers

Follow us: Facebook | Instagram | Twitter † Youtube

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.